The Airfield

We were out for a walk today on a public footpath. It suddenly came to a stop at a small airfield with no obvious way to continue. Not knowing which way to go we returned along the path we came.

The Airfield
The Airfield. ©2014 Ainslie

Another day, we are going to try again and cross the airfield. The gates on the other side have a chain on them but are not locked. The footpath definitely continues but it looks like the caravan site owners are trying to deter people from using it.

4 thoughts on “The Airfield

  1. I’m not entirely sure how to say this, but I think this might be an example of doing (chaining the gate) and using our cultural responses against us. It happens a lot. If you want to do something, (stop pedestrian traffic) you usually can unless specifically prohibited, if you just do it as if it were ordinary. I hope that made sense. 🙂

    1. I think so Robert. But it is prohibited to prevent access to a public footpath but I can’t tell where it goes. It might not even go that way. It just seems to stop. I have some maps to study but I think it may be easier and quicker by road 🙂

    1. Thanks Glynn. I have done that and got hold of some OS maps. I think the footpath may go a different way from what I originally though. As I said to Robert. The road will probably be quicker, especially if there’s a few beers and a meal to be had in the Countryman. Then it’ll be a taxi back to the van 😉

Leave a Reply

